VSS to Subversion migration

Sorry for the dearth of posts lately, I’ve just been having too much fun with Subversion to post. Bad Release Guy! That, and about a hundred releases or so…
🙂

We have finally *officially* decided to use SVN, rather than Perforce. I’m actually pretty happy about the decision, I’m finding SVN to be a nice, simple, straightforward source control system. It doesn’t have all the “bells and whistles” associated with Perforce or ClearCase, etc., but it is a solid tool and does what a good version control system should.

The setup and install was pretty trivial, not a big deal at all. The only remaining item is to tie this thing up to my local authentication/authorization system. It’s proving to be more of a pain than I had hoped, and I’m not thrilled about just using SSH or Apache’s basic auth to control access to our repository.

I’ve put together some VSS to Subversion migration scripts (in perl) that have worked out quite well. It’s basically just a simple “get latest and add to SVN”, no labels or file history or anything gets moved over, but I’ve noticed the “VSS way” of doing things is not exactly based on best practices anyway. So we’ll just keep our old, VSS repository around in the meantime in read-only mode, in case we need to do some historical reporting.

If you’re interested in checking out my VSS to SVN migration scripts, have a ball!

24 Responses to “VSS to Subversion migration”

  1. Sean Says:

    I’m interested in those migration scripts 🙂 TIA.

  2. theReleaseGuy Says:

    Hi Sean,

    I’m afraid I’m not able to post .zip files up here, so I’ve e-mailed them to you. Maybe I’ll just copy and paste the test in here at some point…

    Let us know how it goes!

  3. jasonwiener Says:

    Subversion kicks ass. I’ve been using svnX for the Mac with it over the last month or so. Awesome UI-based tool for Intel-based Macs. The whole thing makes VSS look like it’s using the “little kid” voice.

  4. Clarence Says:

    Hi,

    I am interested on your VSS to subversion script. Would you send me a copy of your script?

    thanks,

    clarence

  5. Konstantin Kondakov Says:

    Looking for a VSS – > SVN conversion. Any script, any platform, I am very open

  6. theReleaseGuy Says:

    Clarence – I tried sending you the script in an e-mail, but your hotmail address bounced… I’m afraid I can’t post it up here.

  7. Jimmy Says:

    I am interested in your script. Can you send it to me, please?

    Thanks
    Jimmy

  8. Sherry Says:

    Hi, I am interested in your scripts too, can you send it to me, please?

  9. Dave Says:

    Hi I’m also interested in your scripts – can you post them to me please?

    TIA,

    Dave

  10. Julian Says:

    hey I’m also interested so if you could send them to me by mail or post em up would be really awesome.

    Thanks,
    Julian

  11. Kishore Says:

    I am interested in the script please send them to me.

    Thanks,
    -Kishore

  12. Rajesh Says:

    I am interested in taking a look at these scripts. If you could send them to me as well that would be great.

  13. theReleaseGuy Says:

    I finally posted em here, but you gotta grab the jpg, and rename it as a zip file to get the goods… I’ll stick em somewhere else one of these days…

  14. missouripersonalinjuryhelp.com Says:

    St Louis Personal Injury Law…

    just found your site. good stuff….

  15. Praveen Says:

    I have been looking for a nice article which explians me step by step process to migrate from VSS to SVN, and also the pros anc cons when migrating. my great concern while migrating are all the rights on the file structures and also will it maintain the file structure as it as after migrating into SVN?

    Please answer my above 2 questions.

    Thanks in advance.
    Praveen.

    • theReleaseGuy Says:

      Hi Praveen,

      You should be able to keep the file structure, but I have yet to find a solid way of keeping permissions in tact. It’s been a while since I messed with this problem, so I’m afraid I can’t help much more…

  16. Saravanan Jayavelu Says:

    Hi,
    i there any chance to move all the history and comments from VSS to SVN? Please let me know the steps if posible.

    Thanks in advance,
    Saravanan

  17. Pal Says:

    Hey, Do u have perforce to SVN migration script which will migrate revision history too? Cud u plz mail me?

  18. Prasanna Goupal Says:

    Hi

    I am also interested in vss to svn migration scripts. Could you please mail me that?

    pgoupal@gmail.com

    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    Prasanna

  19. How to Get Six Pack Fast Says:

    If you want to see a reader’s feedback 🙂 , I rate this post for 4/5. Detailed info, but I just have to go to that damn yahoo to find the missed parts. Thank you, anyway!

  20. Krishna Kishore Says:

    Hi,

    I am looking for your scripts. I am not able to download them. Could you please send me the scritps via mail.

    Thanks & Regards
    Krishna Kishore

  21. WSBokhari Says:

    Hi Guys!!
    Its Good if teh Tool ” VSS to SVN migration scripts ” work best for VSS to Subversion Migration activities.

    Moreover:: Will you please share the way to use this??

    I am using windows 2003 server and VSS 6.0 + Subversion 1.6.

    Please elaborate in this regard.

    Thanks
    WSBokhari

Leave a Reply

